Sharing my good days and bad days

NaNoWriMo – Day 10

IMG_0765Day 10…

It’s Sunday afternoon in Tennessee! The sun is shining and it’s a beautiful day. My daughter and I took the grandchildren to McDonald’s for lunch and to play on the “Touch 2 Play” computer games. (We snuck in a burger and chicken sandwich from Wendy’s for the adults). The kids have eaten, and are happily playing… allowing us to write. After I finish this post, I will be writing on my novel.

Since my attempt at the much-lauded November 9th NaNoWriMo Writing Marathon Day didn’t go as planned, I decided to stay up late, then get up early and do my own WRITING MARATHON today with my daughter and grandchildren.

Last night I worked hard to make up for not getting much writing done and stayed up til 2am writing… I wrote 1739 words all together, even if they didn’t all count because 800 were written after midnight!

Today I have written my 1667 words… and I’m hard at work to catch up to the Day 10 goal of 16,667. At the moment, my word count is 13,704 – so all I need to pass the daily word goal is 2,964 words!

IMG_1204

I might not get 2,964 more words today, but I’m pretty confident I can get at least half that. If I do, tomorrow I would need to write 3,149 just to achieve the Day 11 goal.

However, after that it’s back to work during the daytime. And I’ve had a lot of trouble getting my 1667 words at night when I come home. Hopefully… if I can catch up today and tomorrow, the nightly writing will go a bit easier. Otherwise, it’s back to playing catchup each weekend.

NOW… isn’t it funny how discouraged I was yesterday about the 50,000 word count, but today I’m thinking I can do it, so I’m encouraged?

Well, I stand by what I said yesterday; the most important thing isn’t reaching the 50,000 words by the end of November, the most important thing is to try… and to not give up.That said, if I don’t reach 50,000 words by the end of November, I will still be glad I finished the challenge. And taking the challenge has already helped me to accept the decision to write a non-fiction book once November is over!

Leave a Reply

