Sharing my good days and bad days

CharlieBrown-slider

I’ve just been reading a novel about a young girl who is called fatty by her classmates. There is a man in the book who has been attracted to her for two years and when he finally gets up the nerve to ask if he can court her, he has a rough time convincing her that he thinks she’s beautiful, as well as kind, intelligent, and would make a wonderful wife and mother.

Boy, did this take me back!

I have struggled with my weight most of my life; I would have loved to have found such an honorable man as Samuel. But what I remember about one of my first dates is the young man saying, “you’d look real pretty if you just lost about ten pounds“. Then in my thirties, when I lost sixty pounds, I heard, “you’d look really nice if you lost twenty or thirty more pounds“. I finally realized it would not matter how much weight I lost… to some people I will never look the way they think I should.

And… after saying all that, I will let you in on a secret… I am once again working on losing weight. This time it isn’t to please anyone but myself, although my daughter and grandchildren will reap the benefits. Since I was diagnosed with diabetes a year ago, I have been struggling with choosing the right amount of carbs, plus lowering my salt and sodium intake to lower my blood pressure, and lowering my cholesterol intake to lower my bad cholesterol.

I have found that watching your carbs, salt, sodium, cholesterol, and fat… doesn’t leave much that’s desirable to eat. Oh… and exercise – diabetes demands exercise to help keep the blood sugar down to a reasonable number.

So I’m working to lose weight to control my diabetes and to get healthier!

Wish me well…

God Bless You.

Comments on: "25 Days of Christmas – Day 9" (1)

  1. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!

    CONGRATULATIONS! GREAT BLOG!

    You can read more about this in the post below:

    http://jcsbookshelf.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/bonus-post-my-first-blog-award-the-versatile-blog-award

    God Bless You!

    Like

Leave a Reply

