Sharing my good days and bad days

March 2 – Day 2

Whew! Day 1 is over!

Not exactly what I expected… but overall I think successful.

No, we did not go to the requested fast food choice shown below, but we did compromise… but I digress.

20140104-224706.jpg

It began well. I started the day with controlling my portions… so instead of 2 scrambled eggs with 2 slices of diced ham and 1/4 cup of shredded cheese (my usual Saturday omelet), I opted for one egg with a tiny bit of cheese. It was pretty good. I added 1/2 an english muffin with a dab of cream cheese.

Then I got the brilliant idea to drive to the mall to walk, since it wasn’t time to open so it wouldn’t be crowded, yet would be warmer than the cold air outside.

We get in the car and head for the mall. Once we began walking, my daughter noticed that her black skirt was clinging to her leggings… in a bad way!

She couldn’t go more than a few feet before the front… and back… would cling so tightly she could barely walk, as well as riding up and showing her “red” leggings, not to mention how embarrassing it was to her… and whenever she would pull her dress away from the leggings, the static electricity would “shock” her. The rest of the family laughed, but I don’t think any of us would have enjoyed getting shocked.

Instead of giving up and going back home, since it was past ten and the stores were opening, we checked out Belk but didn’t find anything. So we headed to J C Penney, where we found wonderful capri pants, perfect for walking.

My daughter wasn’t happy about trading her skirt for pants, but I assured her they looked very modest and would be more than acceptable for walking and exercising. We purchased them and they worked great!

Aside from her feeling very self-conscious (the girls in our family have chosen not to wear pants or shorts, but wear long skirts and modest tops) about not being appropriately dressed, we had a good workout.

And the compromise? Well, after walking, with a bit of shopping afterwards, we were all starving, so instead of fast food, we headed to one of our favorite places for a salad – it’s an excellent salad, tasty, healthy, and fresh.

20131231-192458.jpg

In addition to two salads, we ordered a chopped steak with mushrooms and a baked potato to share, plus food for the kiddies.

Last night, after eating a bowl of popcorn, I felt defeat knocking at my door. But I knew it wouldn’t be easy… but I can’t give up!

Day 1 taught me two very important things:

1. Exercising takes a lot of energy!. I discovered I need to eat a larger portion when I exercise. I didn’t do this and I think this is why my head began hurting. I also need to be careful to not allow my blood sugar to drop too much and this happens more when I’m trying to diet.

2. Sitting around (especially watching a video) makes me hungry! Some evenings we allow the children to watch a character-based video or we watch a sermon by one of our favorite preachers. I discovered sitting on the couch prompted me to get the munchies… so the next time I plan to grab my knitting. If I still get the munchies I’ll have to figure out something else to do.

Oh, and don’t mess with static electricity!

With these new gems of wisdom, I’m ready to tackle Day 2!

Leave a Reply

