Sharing my good days and bad days

March is definitely my least favorite month…

On March 16, 1976 – just nine months after I graduated from high school, my mom passed away.

I was so lost…

My children never got the chance to meet their grandmother. They never got to celebrate birthdays with her… or get spoiled by her… or pray with her.

I loved hearing her sing hymns when she was washing dishes… or hearing her in her bedroom, praying for her family and friends, and praising God.

Today it’s been 38 years, but I still miss her so much!

On March 18, 1999 – just three months before her son graduated from high school, my sister passed away.

I have another sister, who is ten years older than me, but we’ve never been close – probably because we’re ten years apart, or perhaps because she has never lived close by, so we rarely see one another.

On March 2, 1927, my dad was born. He passed away on October 10, 2012.

So I have three deaths to remember in March.

I’m working on making some new, happy memories to celebrate in March, but it’ll probably always be my least favorite month of the year…

Comments on: "March… my least favorite month" (4)

  1. I’m sorry. This must be a really hard time of year for you. Thank you for writing. I love that you remember your mom singing hymns…what a legacy.

    Like

    • Thank you. During the times when doubts would come my way, my mom’s faith (and actions) is what kept me going… until I had my own faith (and personal experiences) to rely on.

      My mom is still an inspiration to me!

      Like

  2. I was 11 when my Mom died. I have never really gotten over it. I have accepted it and live with it, but, in the deep recesses of our hearts, we never really get over losing a Mom. They are supposed to be there to help you with your wedding gown and they are supposed to be there to see your children and tell you you will survive their childhood. I am so very sorry. My mom was born on March 15, 1922. She died in 1966. My dad died suddenly in 1993. His was a shock to my system, one I didn’t expect. I still think of calling him and then remind myself he is not there. A dear friend of mine once told me that when we get older our parents become just that, parents. But, when death comes they revert back to Mommy and Daddy. For you, know I will be thinking of you, and hoping this month ends quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

