Sharing my good days and bad days

According to Thomas Wolfe, you can’t go home again…

Does this saying ring true?

I am ten years from retirement… and I’ve never lived farther than two hours from home… until now.

Born and raised in Knoxville, I left the first time to follow my husband to Tazewell, and a few years later to Morristown… then he left us.

A year after he left, I packed up my home and headed back home (to Knoxville).

After my DAD passed away, I knew Knoxville had ceased to be “home”.

Soon after praying for God’s guidance, I heard about a job – a really great opportunity – and I applied, and was chosen, for the position.

So now we live in Nashville (more than three hours from “home”)… and when we drove to Knoxville two weeks ago for a music lesson, it was a comfortable drive, but it didn’t feel like home anymore.

As a matter of fact, it felt so much more like home… the closer we got to our “new” home. There’s no one and nothing in Knoxville waiting for us, except for the grandchildren’s wonderful music teacher, who we’ll visit as often as we can.

So I guess you can go home again.

Maybe it just depends on where home is…

My home really isn’t here anyway. My home is with my HEAVENLY FATHER… the place where my MOM and DAD and SISTER are… and other family members and friends are waiting for me.

This world is not my home I’m just a passing through
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore…

Oh Lord you know I have no friend like you
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

God bless you.

Comments on: "You can’t go home again… or can you?" (5)

  1. so true. We have been in our childhood hometown for three weeks now on hubby’s family business… I am so homesick for where our home is, I just want to go back to where we live. But, besides all of that, we are just passing through this earthly kingdom waiting to go to our true and permanent home in Heaven. The older I get and the more people and loved ones I see passing away, the more I long to be there with them, joining in with them and worshipping our Lord. Great piece today. DAF

    Like

Leave a Reply

