Sharing my good days and bad days

The best of intentions…

Yes, I have the best of intentions…

20140104-224115.jpg
But my plans don’t usually work out the way I plan.

It’s not that I’m not willing to work hard. Last September my daughter and a couple of friends encouraged me to participate in NaNoWriMo. I decided if I was going to do it, I wanted to do the best I could… and I wrote a novel – beginning to end, passing 50,000 words during the month of November.

But when we decide that it’s my turn now to be the piano teacher for the grandchildren… well, I had the best of intentions, but I get home, hot and tired from work (and the drive home), and it’s not the best time to sit down and be the patient teacher, trying to be encouraging, supportive, never letting anyone see me cringe at the discordant notes.

When we decide to have family time, with Bible Study, card games, board games, family activities for a family who’s stuck inside a small apartment… I had the best of intentions, but work committments, bad attitudes, chores – something always seems to interrupt… or I get home, we have dinner, get ready for family time – and we get busy doing something else and just plain forget.

Does this happen to you?

Recently, I’ve begun having family time just before bedtime. Many times MOM can’t join us, but the rest of us, showered and ready in our pajamas, sit on the beds and read the Bible, recite memorized verses, play 20 questions, or UNO or SKIPBO.

So far it’s working out…

God bless you!

©Donna J Mynatt 2014

Leave a Reply

